Shropshire Council

Shropshire Council is a unitary authority and replaced the former two-tier local government structure in Shropshire on 1 April 2009, which involved its immediate predecessor, Shropshire County Council, and five non-metropolitan districts – Bridgnorth, North Shropshire, Oswestry, South Shropshire and Shrewsbury & Atcham. These districts and their councils were abolished in the reorganisation.

The area covered by Shropshire Council is 3,197 square kilometres, or 1,234 square miles. The council’s seat is at Shirehall in Shrewsbury, the largest town in the unitary authority’s area and historic county town of Shropshire. The council however has numerous offices across the county and area committees meet in the former district headquarters at Oswestry, Wem, Ludlow and Bridgnorth.

The Council is responsible for a number of services including: car parking, collection of council tax and non-domestic rates, concessionary bus fares, regeneration, environment health, housing, public conveniences, sport, arts and leisure, planning and building control, elections/electoral registration, community safety, community planning and waste collection.

Nigel Hartin who lives in Bucknell, was first elected to Shropshire Council on 1 April 2009 prior to which he had been a Councillor with South Shropshire Council. He represents the Clun constituency and is the Liberal Democrat Lead member on the Shropshire and Wrekin Authority Fire Authority.

More information about this councillor

Liberal Democrats
Division: Clun

Nigel Hartin
14 Ladywell,
Bucknell, SY7 0AZ
Telephone: 07779 017 018
[email protected]

Police and Crime Commissioner Newsletter

Sign up to the Police and Crime Commissioner Newsletter here

For regular updates of local crimes, scams, incidents and suspicious vehicles you can follow or ‘like’ their facebook page

Comments are closed.

Skip to content